Happy Earth Day!

I’m so excited! First of all, it’s Monday! I’m renaming it Reboot Day! The day we get to reboot our diets, exercise, and attitudes. Really, anything that needs an adjustment, today’s your day!
Second, it’s the first day of a new month! For me, that means it’s one day closer to summer. I love summer. Short sleeves, flip flops, and lots of outdoor activity. 
And, it’s Earth Month! I love that too because it is a healthy reminder to take care of our planet. Now before you start in, no, I’m not a tree hugger. But I do believe in being a good steward of everything God has entrusted to us. And that includes our planet.
If each of us does our part, the world can be a cleaner, safer place to live for all of us! There. That’s my Little Miss Merry Sunshine approach to life. Some ways I’m working on are: Recycling: Cardboard packaging, plastic containers, newspaper. I also recycle the magazines I’ve read by passing them on to family members for their reading pleasure! Reusing: some of these things are personal and you probably don’t want to know. But, I have plastic containers with lids that I can store leftovers in and simply wash and reuse the container. I have my own Starbucks cups that I take with me for the barista to use. And, I purchased that reusable cup thingy for my Keurig coffee maker in an effort to not purchase all those disposable k-cups that end up in the landfill. Now, please don’t write me and try to shame me for going to Starbucks or owning a Keurig in the first place . It won’t work. We all have our hang ups, and I happen to love my coffee! And I didn’t say I was an expert at this, I’m just trying to do my part. So, on we go. Reducing:This seems to be the hardest for me so far, but at least I’m thinking more about it. You know, reduce the amount of gas emissions in the air by driving less. I can do that. And we have a small, efficient car. But we also still own an SUV. Sorry. But I’ve had it for ten years, it’s paid for, and I have a kid in college. So no new cars for another two years. But I drive it less than the small car, so I’m giving myself credit for that. I also try to reduce the amount of electricity and water we use at home. And, I’ve begun looking at product packaging more recently. If a product has less packaging to begin with, then there’s less to recycle, or end up in the blasted landfill!
There. That’s all for today. But stay tuned. I’m sure I will have more posts this month on this topic. Like gardening, which I love!

Leave a comment