Breakfast of Champions, with Chia Seeds!

image

So I finally found Dole Chia seeds at my local Kroger, thanks to a friend who works there! In the nutrition/health food aisle, way down on a bottom shelf. I’ve been looking for them for awhile because I want to try them in my morning smoothies. Chia seeds are one of the latest and greatest nutritional supplements. As a matter of fact, they are part of the Dole nutrition plus line. They contain Omega 3, fiber, and calcium, and is considered a super food!

imageimage

In an earlier Breakfast of Champions post, I stated how I like to use the Yoplait frozen smoothie bags which include frozen fruit and yogurt cubes as a base for my smoothies. So today was no different. Started with the Yoplait, adding milk and banana. But this time I added the Dole Chia Seeds instead of wheat germ. You can see some seeds in the close up picture! I have to say, I really like it! The seeds add a crunch and little bit of nuttiness to the smoothie. Now, they do tend to stick in my teeth a little (they are seeds after all). But overall, I really like adding them. I think the added nutrition is worth the tiny annoyance! My final thoughts? I will be adding these to my diet on a regular basis! And of course, you can add them to much more than smoothies. They can be added to oatmeal, juices, sandwich spreads, sprinkled on salads, and so much more. The possibilities are as varied as your imagination!
image

CHEERS!
For more information on the health benefits of Chia, a store locator, the nutrition plus history, and a coupon, click here: http://dole.com/nutritionplus/

Leave a Reply

