Happy Valentine’s, Everyday!

Happy Valentine’s Day! (Yes, I know, it was the 14th)

I love Valentine’s Day. Not just because I have a wonderful husband to love, and who loves me passionately. I love it because it gives me a designated, intentional, no-excuses opportunity to express love and appreciation to anyone and everyone in my life whom I hold dear. And even some who just offer services on a regular basis, but who don’t receive that much-needed “Thank You”.

Have you seen this commercial for Dove Chocolate? This is what I’m talking about:

My next question is, “Why don’t we express our appreciation more often? Like everyday?” I want to challenge you, and myself, to do just that. Go out and buy a bag of individually wrapped chocolates, (the Valentine ones are probably on sale if there are any left). Next, sit down with a pencil and paper and make a list of everyone you would like to bless with a surprise “Thank You” or “Valentine”. Third, you can either use leftover Valentine cards, Thank You cards, or just an index card, and write a quick, one or two sentence note, expressing your appreciation. Tape a piece of chocolate to the card, and start delivering!

Here are a few ideas of some folks who might enjoy your appreciation:

Your spouse/significant other, Your child/children, Friends, Siblings, Parents, Grandparents, Teachers, Mail person, Newspaper Delivery person, Barista, Restaurant Server, Minister of any type: (Ladies group, small group, youth group)

That should get you started!

I hope this post at least gets you thinking about how you can tell or show some people in your life that you appreciate them. Or maybe you’re way ahead of me here and have already been doing this. I’d love to hear your thoughts and ideas. Please be sure to leave a comment!

Happy February!

One thought on “Happy Valentine’s, Everyday!

Leave a Reply

