Smellin’ Coffee

I’ve been getting texts, reading Facebook posts, and hearing everyone, it seems, talk about enjoying morning coffee out on the deck, or porch, and listening to the birds sing their morning songs. It appears, at long last, perhaps Spring has finally arrived to our chilly area of the world!

I have had the Chris Rice song, Smellin Coffee, on my playlist for a few years now. It’s one of my favorite upbeat tunes. Mainly because I’m not a morning person. But I do love my coffee and the morning songs of my local feathered friends. So, in honor of spring, coffee, my feathered friends, and my human ones too, I thought this the perfect day to share. Enjoy and God bless you this fine springtime day!

Oh, and I can’t miss this opportunity to share also that I now live with a middle school in my backyard! So now I can sit out on my deck, drink my morning coffee, enjoy the cardinals, and watch the students enjoying outdoor gym class. I had to share this little tidbit simply because I just heard the teacher, over the intercom, yell, “Erica, you’re out because you threw the bat. And we know you threw the bat, because it hit a teammate”!  If you’re like me, you just got your morning chuckle!

 

Last thing I remember, saying bye to yesterday

Glad to see it over, pullin’ covers over my head
What were You doin’ while I dreamt the night away
‘Cause I can tell that somethin’s different
And my eyes ain’t even open yet

I’m smellin’ coffee, birds are singin’ just outside
Here comes Your mercy streamin’ in with the morning light
My heart is racing, waking up to Your smile
It’s a good morning, it’s a good morning

Well, I remember readin’ You’re the God who never sleeps
And while I’ve been dreamin’ You’ve been singin’ over me, yeah
Singin’ about my freedom, wakin’ me up to hear Your song
And now I can’t dance hard enough
‘Cause yesterday is gone, gone, gone

I’m smellin’ coffee, birds are singin’ just outside
Here comes Your mercy streamin’ in with the morning light
My heart is racing, waking up to Your smile
It’s a good morning, it’s a good morning

Every little breath, every heartbeat
Is a gift of love that You give to me
You keep givin’ even when I’m asleep
‘Cause I know You never stop watching over me

I wake up, my past is gone
‘Cause Your mercy’s new with the mornin’ sun
I’m forgiven, I’m free, it’s a brand new day
‘Cause Your faithfulness is the greatest, hey

I’m smellin’ coffee, birds are singin’ just outside
Here comes Your mercy streamin’ in with the morning light
My heart is racing, waking up to Your smile
It’s a good morning, it’s a good morning

Songwriters
Christopher Rice

Published by
CLUMSY FLY MUSIC

 

Read more: Chris Rice – Smellin’ Coffee Lyrics | MetroLyrics

 

2 thoughts on “Smellin’ Coffee

Leave a Reply

